Em

Hi, I'm Em! I'm mainly a sci-fi/fantasy/horror reader, but I also read a lot of YA, romance, and (probably sad) contemporary fiction. I'm one of the co-hosts of Talking Queer Books!

Storygraph: @apairofducks

Staff Pick Badge
The Adventures of Amina al-Sirafi: A new fantasy series set a thousand years before The City of Brass By Shannon Chakraborty Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9780062963512
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Harper Voyager - March 26th, 2024

This fantasy book takes readers on an adventure with retired pirate captain Amina al-Sarafi as she gets pulled into one last job. Joining on her on her adventure are a poisons expert who has one solution to every problem, a cheery first mate with a penchant for consensual kidnapping, and al-Sarafi's cowardly demon husband. I could have spent six more books with this cast of characters, and I recommend this book to all pirate fans, buff old women fans, quirky demon fans, and pretty much everyone else.


Staff Pick Badge
Betty: A novel By Tiffany McDaniel Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9781984897947
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Vintage - July 13th, 2021

A beautiful, painful look at a half-white, half-Cherokee family in Appalachia. The prose of this novel is so lovely and efficient and magical that I found myself highlighting every other sentence until I had to stop turning the page yellow and instead just make myself appreciate the language.

Perfect for fans of A Little Life, you should read this if your heart aches.


Staff Pick Badge
The City We Became: A Novel (The Great Cities #1) By N. K. Jemisin Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9780316509886
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Orbit - July 27th, 2021

This book is a love letter to New York City, a rallying cry against gentrification, and one of my favorite fantasy books that I have read in a long time.


Staff Pick Badge
How to Excavate a Heart By Jake Maia Arlow Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9780063078734
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: HarperTeen - November 28th, 2023

A sapphic romance novel with Jewish protagonists! The main characters of this novel make one of my favorite pairings I've read in any romance novel. This book is endlessly charming.


Staff Pick Badge
The Long Run By James Acker Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781335428622
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Inkyard Press - February 7th, 2023

James Acker dares to ask the greatest question of our time: what if the captain of the track team and the captain of the field team had feelings for each other? His answer is the funniest book I've read this year with charming, hilarious characters.


Staff Pick Badge
We Ride Upon Sticks: A Novel (Alex Award Winner) (Vintage Contemporaries) By Quan Barry Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9780525565437
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Vintage - February 16th, 2021

We Ride Upon Sticks follows a group of high school field hockey players as they sign their souls away to a demonic force within an Emilio Estevez notebook so they can win more games. Told in first person plural, this novel is a feat of characterization; Barry's ability to make each member of the team feel distinct while also blurring the lines between them as Emilio's hold grows stronger sweeps readers into the deal along with the team.


Staff Pick Badge
Where the Dead Wait: A Novel By Ally Wilkes Cover Image
$28.99
ISBN: 9781982182823
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Atria/Emily Bestler Books - December 5th, 2023

William Day, also known as Eat-Em-Fresh Day, the infamous fourth lieutenant-turned-captain of the Reckoning, is haunted by an Arctic voyage that ended in desperation, in death, in devouring his shipmates alive to keep the meat fresh. But most of all, he is haunted by the disappearance of his Reckoning shipmate, confidant, and the locus of his repressed feelings, Jesse Stevens. When Day is given the opportunity to return to the Arctic and find Stevens, he agrees to captain the Resolution and hopefully find the man who has haunted him for the last fifteen years.

Wilkes's second novel is a feat of complex characters, of chilling atmosphere, of writing that haunts the reader as much as it haunts the characters.


Staff Pick Badge
The Darkness Outside Us By Eliot Schrefer Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9780062888235
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Katherine Tegen Books - May 10th, 2022

A sci-fi adventure, a star-crossed romance, and a thrilling mystery all rolled into one. The Darkness Outside Us exudes a hope and love for humanity that makes readers proud to be alive.